Treaty of Democratic Unity (with The Union of Democratic States)



The South Pacific and the Union of Democratic States, endeavoring to promote the ideals of peace and unity among amiable GCRs and UCRs, ensure good relations and cooperation between our two great regions, and recognize the legitimate governments of the same, have agreed to the following Treaty of Democratic Unity.

Article I. Mutual Recognition of Government Legitimacy.

Section 1. The signatories to this treaty recognize the government of each region, based upon its constitutions and laws, as legitimate, and will not extend that recognition to any government that comes to power through means not proscribed by law, which shall be determined by the legitimate government in question.

Section 2. Should the government of either signatory fundamentally change, but not violate the terms of the previous section, the signatories may adopt a memorandum of understanding extending the provisions of this treaty to the new government.

Article II. Security.

Section 1. Both signatories to this treaty vow neither to attack the home region of the other signatory nor participate in any action with the intent to overthrow their legitimate government.

Section 2. Both signatories will refrain from conspiring, either directly or through a third party, to destabilize or overthrow the legitimate government of either signatory.

Section 3. Both signatories will refrain from conducting clandestine operations, espionage, or other forms of spying against either signatory.

Section 4. Both signatories will, in good faith, report any known threat or concern related to the other signatory’s security, to the appropriate security organizations.

Article III. Mutual Defense.

Section 1. Both signatories to this treaty may seek assistance for their self-defense by lodging an official request with the appropriate officials.

Section 2. Both signatories agree to aid each other against attempts to illegally overthrow the in-game Delegate of their respective home regions. The signatories must meet for discussions on any matters when, in the opinion of either signatory, the stability or sovereignty of either signatory is threatened.

Section 3. All other requests for aid will be considered on a case-by-case basis, and subject to Article V’s conditions.

Article IV. Cultural Exchange and Cooperation.

Section 1. The signatories to this treaty will endeavor to conduct communal cultural activities, to the benefit of the residents of both signatories, and to strengthen the institutions of peace and liberty.

Article V. Cooperation on Military Affairs between the SPSF and the UDSAF.

Section 1. The signatories to this treaty agree to cooperate, as circumstances permit, on mutually beneficial military operations, including training missions and confidence-building measures.

Section 2. In pursuing cooperation in military operations, both signatories agree that participation on the opposite sides of a military engagement does not automatically constitute hostility or an attack on either party.

Section 3. Both signatories agree to share intelligence as circumstances permit.

Section 4. Both signatories agree to keep classified any information regarding military affairs, and only publish that information in a manner mutually agreed upon.

Article VI. Peaceful Settlement of Disputes.

Section 1. The signatories to this treaty undertake to settle any and all disputes between them through peaceful means and to refrain from using the threat of force or sanction against one another.

Article VII. Deposit and Clarification of Terms.

Section 1. This treaty shall be stored in a publicly accessible area of the community forums of both signatories.

Section 2. The signatories to this treaty may, from time to time, clarify the terms of this treaty through memorandums of understanding, which shall be posted alongside the treaty.

Article VIII. Suspension of Terms and Termination of the Treaty.

Section 1. Either signatory may suspend the terms of the treaty, if the other signatory has materially breached its terms, until such a time that both signatories peacefully settle the dispute and adopt a memorandum of understanding that the treaty is again in force.

Section 2. Either signatory may terminate the treaty within five days of notice, posted publicly in the forum of deposit in both regions, after which the terms of this agreement are no longer legally binding for either signatory.

This treaty was ratified by the Assembly of the South Pacific on 16 September 2017 at 22:43 UTC.