[WIP] First Prime Ministerial Debate, July 2023 (Cadiz)

Julia Sanchez is the Chief Political Correspondent for CNN (Cadisian News Network), in a position she has held since 2021. Sanchez previously worked as a political reporter for CNN and as an independent analyst and freelance journalist. CNN hosted this executive debate, between Margarita Solaya of the New Democratic Party and conservative Mariano Casado of the Popular Party. Voters in Cadiz will head to the voting booth in two weeks to cast their vote for the future of Cadiz.

Margarita Solaya is a representative from Santiago in the General Court, who has served in the body since 2013. Solaya is a well-rounded political moderate who mounted an unsuccessful autonomous community presidential election in 2017 and an unsuccessful Prime Minister campaign in 2019. By trade, Solaya is a small business owner and high school English teacher.

Mariano Casado is a former business magnate and major conservative donor. This is Casado’s first attempt in elected office, however he served as a de facto advisor to former Prime Minister Carlos Rojo. Casado partially self-funded his campaign which lifted him over a field of over 15 major conservative candidates to garner the Popular Party nomination.

SANCHEZ: Thank you both for joining me tonight at the Ander Balboa Convention Hall here in Huelva. Tonight, the major candidates from both parties will engage in a civil but lively debate. Our team at CNN has compiled a fitting set of questions for each candidate to answer.

I would now like to open the floor to Mr. Casado first to deliver his opening statement, followed by Mrs. Solaya.

4 Likes

Mariano Rajoy, business executive and political donor (Popular Party)