HS for MoFA

Hi, I’m HS.

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m a 1.5 term Prime Minister and have served a term each as Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister of Defense. I also currently serve as a General of the SPSF and a member of the Legislator Committee.

I have the experience to do this job effectively. My previous terms as MoFA and PM included significant roles in negotiating our non-aggression pacts with Europeia and Balder as well as our alliances with The League and The Order of the Grey Wardens. I was also actively involved in the bulk of negotiations for The Award Accord while in Cabinet and I was a primary author of the Partnership for Sovereignty while serving in another region’s government. In my previous terms in Cabinet, I also played a key role in diffusing potential crisis situations with several other regions in ways that were both non-destructive and improved on how our Defender interests were represented relative to past agreements.

I have stated my values in foreign affairs in the past, and I’ll refer to them again here:

I’m a believer in principled pragmatism. The South Pacific’s foreign affairs should serve its values, which are defined by three things: the sovereignty of the Coalition, the promotion of democracy, and the defense of innocent communities.
Effective foreign affairs must move past the wrote repetition of our values with a vain hope others see the light. It’s about building institutions to advocate for those values–something we’ve done well with the PfS and the forthcoming Aegis Accords. It’s also about recognizing areas where our values cause our goals to align with other regions, and cooperating with them accordingly. We shouldn’t compromise on our values. But we can be pragmatic and work with others to accomplish shared goals.

TLDR: defenders great, independents can be acquaintances but not besties, and raiders are very bad.